Thursday, June 20, 2019

Jerry Fielding and His Orchestra Magnificence In Brass [1961]

Time Records Series 2000 S/2042

"The seed of a reason so compelling that even the engineers could not resist it took root in Jerry Fielding's mind one Sunday morning in Salzburg, Austria.  He had motored over to Salzburg for the purpose, understandable to any musician, of having his picture taken in Mozart's home town.  Early the next morning an explosion erupted in the town square right under his hotel window.  Fielding looked out and saw a 70-piece brass band blowing mightily." [Excerpt liner notes]

And so, the idea for "Magnificence In Brass" was born!  Read the interesting details of its development in the liner notes.

01 Prologue From "West Side Story"
02 The Magic Circle
03 Ritual Fire Dance
04 Skyliner
05 Shadow Waltz
06 City of Brass
07 Moonlight In Vermont
08 Cheek To Cheek
09 When The Saints Go Marching In
10 Isn't It Romantic
11 Frenesi

No comments:

Post a Comment